+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

  1. #1
    Senior Member Sucked In SMOOTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    787

    Default Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    So, as some may know, I put I 93 serpentine engine in my 92 that had a V belt set-up. So, I have been having temperature issues, the trucks been running hot on the factory gauge. It would get between M and A. Then I noticed when I put the truck in reverse the gauge came down between the N and the O, where the truck used to run at before I had to swap the engine. And I also noticed the factory oil pressure gauge would go down, which is a relief, because it was running way higher then I remember. Also, I thought the factory oil pressure gauge is just a dummy gauge? And yes, I know, don't trust the factory gauges, I'm a big proponent of that, but since I dropped a couple hundred on new boost, pyro, and tranny temps, I was hoping the factory water temp gauge would work for a while.
    Anyways, I mention the belts because the wiring for my old alternator is different then the wiring necessary for the alternator for the serpentine set up. So, I tried to figure out the wiring and finally got it to produce 12+ volts and show up on the factory gauge, but I'm thinking that's where my issue is coming from. If it helps, the 92 has the main wire, and then a two wire plug that looks like an "L". the 93 has the main wire and then a plug with three wires, kinda looks like a thick half-moon. I got a wiring diagram from Advanced, but I ended up plugging one wire that, IIRC, was suppose to go directly to the battery that I ran to the main wire of the Alternator (thinking, it supplies power to the battery, so it would be the same) and I think that's where my problem lays.
    Anyone seen this before? I won't be able to get out there and mess with it for a couple of weeks, until Finals are over, but I thought I would put this out there on a couple of forums and see what people thought. I also will be throwing on a cheapy mechanical water temp gauge I have laying around just so I can be sure of what the truck is doing.

    Thanks,

    MoMo
    <img src=http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/780790/fullsize/trucks_wideshot.jpg border=0 alt= />
    88 bronco T-Top, 302 (gt40p heads, comp cam, ford racing headers), AOD, BW-1356, 6 inch suspension lift, 35 procomps
    - waiting for me to finish a 514efi and front/rear 60's.
    92 Centurion 7.3idi, Banks non-wastegated turbo, E4OD, BW 1356, 35 procomps.
    82 E350 Cabriolet "Vanchero" 460/C6/4.11posi
    "Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity."
    - Bullet-tooth Tony and his friend, Desert Eagle .50

  2. #2
    Junior Member New User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    Couple of possible issues there.
    Voltage could be a huge one. If the voltage drops way down when you are at idle, in gear with your foot on the brake it could affect the gauge readings.

    If the gauge is reading correct you are still not in risk of overheating, but check the easy stuff, is the belt on right, and the pump rotating the correct direction?
    The belt is tight and not slipping?

    The oil pressure gauge is just that, it will reflect pressure and pressure changes.

    It is a different engine it could just run hotter. A lot of things affect that, IP timing is one, but hotter themorstat, bad fan clutch. Who knows.
    Don't worry too much yet. Drive it a little more and get the feel for it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Sucked In SMOOTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    ya, I've been playing with all the other possibilities, including the fan clutch, but I really think electrical is a big part of it if not all of it. I noticed today that whether the headlights are on affect it as well (i.e. headlights on reads higher temp and pressure, headlights off reads lower temp and pressure).
    I'm going to mount up (after finals) my spare gauge to see what it's doing and get back to you. Just thought I would post and see if anyone has seen this.

    MoMo

    P.S. you got to remember, I'm gun shy since it was overheating that, in my opinion, led to the cracked cylinder wall. Cavation may have been a problem, but overheating is what did it in.
    <img src=http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/780790/fullsize/trucks_wideshot.jpg border=0 alt= />
    88 bronco T-Top, 302 (gt40p heads, comp cam, ford racing headers), AOD, BW-1356, 6 inch suspension lift, 35 procomps
    - waiting for me to finish a 514efi and front/rear 60's.
    92 Centurion 7.3idi, Banks non-wastegated turbo, E4OD, BW 1356, 35 procomps.
    82 E350 Cabriolet "Vanchero" 460/C6/4.11posi
    "Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity."
    - Bullet-tooth Tony and his friend, Desert Eagle .50

  4. #4
    1995 5speed PSD Sucked In bob_95_psd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,850

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    Maybe a stupid question but which water pump did you use? Doesn't the serpine belt drive the pump the opposite direction than a Vbelt. If you don't have the pump matched to the belt system perhaps your pump is cavitating until the rpms get low.

    Bob

  5. #5
    Senior Member Sucked In SMOOTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    Not a stupid question, I almost swapped mine over as it only has a couple of hundred miles on it, I got the fan off the my old engine, but was not successful at getting off the new engine so I left it alone.
    Like I mentioned, I think it's electrical, in fact, I'm pretty sure. I need to put the aftermarket gauge on there to rule out a real over-heating problem, to narrow it down.

    MoMo
    <img src=http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/780790/fullsize/trucks_wideshot.jpg border=0 alt= />
    88 bronco T-Top, 302 (gt40p heads, comp cam, ford racing headers), AOD, BW-1356, 6 inch suspension lift, 35 procomps
    - waiting for me to finish a 514efi and front/rear 60's.
    92 Centurion 7.3idi, Banks non-wastegated turbo, E4OD, BW 1356, 35 procomps.
    82 E350 Cabriolet "Vanchero" 460/C6/4.11posi
    "Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity."
    - Bullet-tooth Tony and his friend, Desert Eagle .50

  6. #6
    Junior Member New User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    0

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    You know, it kind of sounds like a grounding issue.
    Is there a good ground strap from the engine to the body? and Body to the battery?

    If the pressure and temp readings go up when the headlights are on, that kind of means there is more Voltage trying to return to the battery.
    It is backing up through places like the gauges.

    Just a thought.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Sucked In sheepman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denton County, Texas
    Posts
    3,618

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    MOMO, did you reconnect the two ground straps on the rear of the engine and the pass side neg cable to the engine?
    1997 F350 Centurion Pacifica
    1986 Bronco Eddie Bauer
    2003 Cub Cadet 1517

    My Photos

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sucked In SMOOTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    Hmm, interesting, in fact, I did not connect the one ground strap at the back of the engine that I was aware of. The one I'm thinking about was on the passenger side, I think, where's the other one? I did connect the main one on the front passenger side of the engine. If that is what it ends up being, I'm going to be really pissed. My 2-door was down for 8 months on a stupid grounding issue!
    Also, I learned that the alternator on the new engine should be a 3G and other one may not and they maybe causing my problem. The article I found specifically said not to run the one wire that is suppose to go to the battery, to the main power wire on the back of the alternator as it can affect the ampmeter and that's what I had done, so I will need to check on that as well.

    Thanks, I'll definitely check the ground straps when I get back to working on it in two weeks!

    MoMo
    <img src=http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/780790/fullsize/trucks_wideshot.jpg border=0 alt= />
    88 bronco T-Top, 302 (gt40p heads, comp cam, ford racing headers), AOD, BW-1356, 6 inch suspension lift, 35 procomps
    - waiting for me to finish a 514efi and front/rear 60's.
    92 Centurion 7.3idi, Banks non-wastegated turbo, E4OD, BW 1356, 35 procomps.
    82 E350 Cabriolet "Vanchero" 460/C6/4.11posi
    "Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity."
    - Bullet-tooth Tony and his friend, Desert Eagle .50

  9. #9
    Senior Member Sucked In SMOOTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Wierd issue with factory gauge after engine swap

    So, surprise, surprise, I put the ground strap on and now my gauges are working appropriately. I also fixed the wiring on the alternator, but I do think it was the ground strap.

    MoMo
    <img src=http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/780790/fullsize/trucks_wideshot.jpg border=0 alt= />
    88 bronco T-Top, 302 (gt40p heads, comp cam, ford racing headers), AOD, BW-1356, 6 inch suspension lift, 35 procomps
    - waiting for me to finish a 514efi and front/rear 60's.
    92 Centurion 7.3idi, Banks non-wastegated turbo, E4OD, BW 1356, 35 procomps.
    82 E350 Cabriolet "Vanchero" 460/C6/4.11posi
    "Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity."
    - Bullet-tooth Tony and his friend, Desert Eagle .50

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. engine swap
    By uk-krewzer in forum Cruiser/cabriolet conversions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-14-2016, 06:48 PM
  2. Need swap 460 engine to diesel for 89 ford cabriolet
    By brunobo41 in forum Cruiser, Cabriolet, Van Truck Conversions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2013, 11:05 AM
  3. engine swap input
    By THE BOSS in forum Tech write ups and Installs
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 12:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts