PDA

View Full Version : Finest Centurion in all the land

Travzam
05-27-2015, 02:57 PM
So after buying this rig sight unseen on Ebay out of Cali I had it shipped back to Iowa where my father took care of it till I separated from the Navy. Unfortunately every claim the previous owner maid about the engine condition of the vehicle proved false. Him and his father had attempted to craft a power house diesel engine but as is the case with most people who consider them selves mechanics...they were not. Everything was just a little off so everything had to be addressed.

So off to Black Magic Diesel performance in Cedar rapids Iowa. Here my truck received a complete engine rebuild. I am not a mechanic so I may add another post with the details later. I also had the steering column rebuilt and replaced the tie rods and u joints in the front. The day after the truck came out of the shop I had to drive to Chicago in the years first blizzard to pick up my dog arriving from Hawaii. Took me 7 hours to make the 3 hour trip home but the engine and 4x4 worked flawlessly.

B&B Fabrications of Cedar Falls Iowa handled the bumper build at a very reasonable price, although I had to weather proof it myself to offset some savings. Over the past several weeks I added several cosmetic changes using Monstaliner, the stuff works great, sprays on easy, looks professional and cost a 3rd of what Linex charges although you will be doing the labor. I also have a soft top which I will install next weekend. I think I might have the nicest one in the country and I am very proud of it.

I've seen some others that are quite nice but not diesels which in todays economy I believe gives me a slight edge over the competition. I am stopped all the time and asked about the truck, people take picture while they drive down the highway, and I have my first auto show in Manassas VA this weekend.